"Alabama Scholarships for Service, Not Just Grades"

Directors And Staff

Directors And Staff

Executive Director/Chief Legal Counsel
Ahrian Tyler Dudley, J.D.

 A native of Shelby County, Ahrian attended Montevallo High School and The University of Montevallo, where she graduated summa cum laude and finished second in her class. Ahrian then attended Cumberland School of Law, where she served on The Cumberland Law Review and The National Appellate Team. Ahrian graduated summa cum laude, finishing fourth in her class.

Ahrian Tyler DudleyShe serves as a Continuing Legal Education Seminar Instructor in the areas of Estate Planning, Trust and Probate Administration. In 2000, she was a founding partner of the Christian & Small Law Firm and previously served as a Partner with Rives & Peterson, P.C. Before entering private practice, she served as the first judicial law clerk to The Honorable Sharon Lovelace Blackburn, the first female Federal Judge in the State of Alabama, now and the Presiding Federal Judge of the United States Northern District Court of Alabama. Ahrian also taught as an Adjunct Political Science Professor at the University of Montevallo and worked as a tax associate with Coopers & Lybrand, LLP. Ahrian is A V rated by Martindale Hubbell, the highest rating for an attorney, and was selected as Best of the Bar by Birmingham Business Journal in 2006 for Estate Attorneys.

Ahrian is a member of The Alabama State Bar, Tax and Elder Law Section and The American Bar Association, Taxation, Real Property, Probate and Trust Law Sections, Birmingham Tax Forum and the Birmingham Estate Planning Council and National Committee on Planned Giving and serves on The University of Alabama Professional Advisory Council.

Ahrian enjoys hiking camping and canoeing with her children and her Junior Girl Scout Troop. She is also an Ordained Minister, accomplished photographer and a vintage car enthusiast.

girlscoutsincave2“The dream has become a reality. What started off as an honor to the parents of Mignon C. Smith has become a reality for over 200 Alabama students who are attending college for free. I can now see what we do in life really matters, as it touches so many other lives. These students will not be left behind–they are success stories thanks to Ms. Smith’s generosity. Our scholars are incredible young adults who are continuing to impress me daily in their ability to adapt and grow into responsible and caring citizens. To be part of their lives has had a tremendous impact on everyone associated with the foundation from the student mentors to the Board members– many of whom cried when the scholars received their awards at the presentation ceremony. I hope we can continue to grow and see our scholars be leaders in the community as well as leaders in the foundation–it is turning full circle as we now have Smith Scholars helping us select the next recipients by serving as Trustees.”

-Ahrian Tyler Dudley


Stewart R. Dudley, CPA, J.D., LLM

Stewart began the first four years of his career with the law firm of Johnston, Barton, Proctor, Swedlaw & Naff. In 1977, he joined the Public Accounting firm of Dudley, Hopton-Jones, Sims & Freeman, PLLP.  From 2004 until 2010, Stewart served as Vice President and Chief Legal Officer of the Buffalo Rock Company.  Stewart currently serves as a partner with Dudley-Hopton, Jones, Sims and Freeman, concentrating his practice in tax planning and forensic accounting and often serves as an expert witness in litigation.

Since 2004, Stewart has served as Director of the J. Craig and Page T. Smith Scholarship Foundation, Inc. and currently serves as Secretary of the organization.  He is one of the original founders of the town of Indian Springs, Alabama and served for over 30 years as a council member.  Stewart’s hobbies include diving, riding horses and collecting vintage automobiles.



  • •Lewis G. Burks, Jr.
  • Ahrian Tyler Dudley
  • C.R. Dudley Jr.
  • Stewart R. Dudley
  • Louis H. Anders (Emeritus)
  • Clark A. Cooper (Emeritus)
  • June Cunniff (Emeritus)
  • Carolyn B. Featheringill (Emeritus)
  • James W. Gewin Emeritus)
  • Helen Crow Mills (Emeritus)
  • Mignon C. Smith (Emeritus)
  • Sharon Yedell (Emeritus)


  • Christina Anderson (Smith Scholar 2008)
  • Barbara J. Belisle (Emeritus)
  • Mary Jo Buff
  • Dana Davis (Smith Scholar 2009)
  • Deivid A. Delgado (Smith Scholar 2005)
  • Justine Hamer (Smith Scholar 2006)
  • Jason M. Leger (Smith Scholar 2005)
  • Honorable Frank H. McFadden
  • Kassie Daniels McHaffey (Smith Scholar 2006)
  • Christina Bryant Meissner  (Smith Scholar 2007)
  • J. Fred Phillips
  • Stephen L. Powell (Smith Scholar 2006)
  • R. Keith Walker (Smith Scholar 2005)
  • Honorable Sharon Lovelace Blackburn (Emeritus)
  • Steven Chazen (Emeritus)
  • Michael K.K. Choy (Emeritus)
  • Honorable U.W. Clemons (Emeritus)
  • June Cuniff (Emeritus)
  • Honorable James W. Furhmeister (Emeritus)
  • Honorable Patricia Yeager Furhmeister (Emeritus)
  • Richard Gill (Emeritus)
  • John Grenier (Emeritus)
  • Honorable Inga Johnson (Emeritus)
  • Honorable Robert M. Martin (Emeritus)
  • Honorable Kenneth O. Simon (Emeritus)
  • Sharon Yedall (Emeritus)


Urist McCauley
Head Mentor / Director of Technical Services / Information Systems

Linda Stewart
Administrative Services / Bookkeeping

Davis Tyler Dudley
Assistant Webmaster / Social Media Coordinator